125cc Sportsbikes Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys,

I'm going to be respraying my bike but i have never done this before so I have a few questions.

As its a plastic fairing do i need to prime it?

I want a matt finish, is there a type of laquar that does this or do you just not use the it in this case?

Ta!

·
Registered
519 Posts
You gonna use aerosol for the full job ? or a compressor ?

I'd say, obviously with a compressor, its cheaper to buy the materials you need. I ended up getting a compressor because I found aerosols were just working out too expensive for each bike I bought. I found a compressor realistically pays for itself within 3 bikes if you include the time taken learning to use the equipment and experimenting with different materials and techniques.

To start, I'd key the plastics with a bit of 600 - 800 grit wet and dry.

Then bang your primer on, wet and dry with 800. I've used a basic primer on plastics and it was fine, IMO no need to chase specific primers for plastics.

The top coat is up to you. If you want a matt finish, I'd buy a coat which is petrol resistant and doesn't need a lacquer. Halfords do matt, but not sure if its petrol resistant. Top coat I would finish with maybe a 1500 grit wet and dry. I've found 1-2 coats of lacquer used sparingly keeps the finish matt, but does give a bit more protection.

I always add 4-5 layers of lacquer afterwards simply because I prefer the finish and it also adds a couple of layers of protection. I commute on most of my bikes so need it to have a resilient finish.

This works for me as a decent DIY finish. Some people do this professionally so will offer more advice, but for me, this works as a cheap alternative.